Press Rooms

Back to Press Room
Press Image

Ivar's Announces 2016 Teacher of the Year

William Miller of Thurgood Marshall Wins the 13th Annual Teacher of the Year Contest

For the past 13 years, Ivar’s has called on Washington students to submit nominations detailing why their classroom leader should be recognized as “Teacher of the Year” and, every year entries pour in telling inspiring tales of creative teaching and mentoring. This year was no exception as Ivar's is pleased to announce William Miller of Thurgood Marshall Elementary (Seattle School District) as the grand prize winner.

In an award ceremony on June 24th, Mr. Miller was presented with his winning prize package: $500 to put toward the purchase of class supplies, a commemorative plaque and the official title of “Teacher of the Year.” Each classmate of the nominating student received a tasty and educational treat in the form of an Ivar’s Kids Meal voucher and a visit from Ivar's Dancing Clam.

Fifth-grade student, Rocco Daly, nominated Mr. Miller for the guidance and encouragement he gives his students, while still creating fun programming,like teaching Shakespeare, Go-Kart building, and SciFri – an educational broadcast about science and technology. Mr. Miller allows students the freedom to have fun and use their imagination in class, encouraging them to tap into their interests and bring them into the classroom in a fun, effective manner.

Ivar’s also awarded two teachers the first place prizes of a $150 gift card for class supplies.

Ivar’s first place winners:

• Arlene Azose: Sixth and Seventh Grade, Islander Middle School (Mercer Island)
• Rebecca Zide: Second and Third Grade, Woodmonth K-8 (Federal Way)

Fifteen teachers also received second place honors which included a $25 Ivar’s gift card.

Ivar’s second place winners:

• James Roy, Sixth Grade, Westgate Elementary (Edmonds)
 Penny Frey: Sixth Grade, Ridgewood Elementary (Renton)
• Jillida McBroom: Second Grade, Edgerton Elementary (Puyallup)
• Scott Miller: Seventh Grade, Centennial Middle School (Snohomish)
 Sharon Long: Kindergarten, Evergreen Elementary (Spanaway)
 Dean Moody: Fourth Grade, Shorewood Elementary (Burien)
 Katie Yore: Sixth Grade, Marvista Elementary (Normandy Park)
 Mary Hill: Second Grade, Shelton View Elementary (Bothell)
 Amy Ingle: Fourth Grade, Mukilteo Elementary (Mukilteo)
 Shelly Harberts: First Grade, Springbrook Elementary (Kent)
 Allison Reed: Eighth Grade, Glacier View Junior High (Puyallup)
 Dora Wallace: Third Grade, Wilkeson Elementary (Buckley)
 Colleen Davis: Fourth Grade, Endeavour Elementary (Mukilteo)
 Anne Melgaard: Third Grade, North Bend Elementary (North Bend)
 Stacie Meyers: Third Grade, Madison Elementary (Everett)

Congrats on a job well done!

Download PDF